The Environmental Peacebuilding Academy is an educational partnership initiative that engages professors and educators in cultivating the next generation of environmental peacebuilding practitioners, researchers, and decision makers. Members of the Academy are professors and educators who teach classes related to environmental peacebuilding and are committed to using and promoting the Knowledge Platform and Community of Practice. 


Members of the Environmental Peacebuilding Academy include:


  • Mishkat Al-Moumin, Chairperson and Assistant Professor, Defense Language Institute and Educational Consultant, Women and the Environment Network
  • Saleem Ali, Professor of Sustainability Studies and Director of the Centre for Social Responsibility in Mining, University of Queensland
  • Randall Amster, Director, Program on Justice and Peace, Georgetown University
  • Jon Barnett, Professor, School of Geography, University of Melbourne
  • Michael Beevers, Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Studies, Dickinson College
  • Gilles Carbonnier, Professor, Department of International and Development Economics, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva
  • Ken Conca, Professor of International Relations, School of International Service, American University
  • Geoff Dabelko, Professor and Director of Environmental Studies, Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs, Ohio University
  • Tom Deligiannis, Lecturer, Department of Political Science, University of Western Ontario
  • Alex Fischer, Environment, Peace and Security Program, The Earth Institute, Columbia University
  • Arthur "Gill" Green, Department Chair and Professor, Department of Geography, Earth, and Environmental Science, Okanagan College
  • Philippe Le Billon, Associate Professor, Department of Geography and Liu Institute for Global Studies, University of British Columbia
  • Marc Levy, Deputy Director, Center for International Earth Science Information Network, Columbia University
  • Jeremy LindResearch Fellow, Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex 
  • Paivi LujalaAssociate Professor, Department of Geography, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Richard Matthew, Professor of Planning, Policy & Design and Political Science, University of California Irvine
  • Mikiyasu Nakayama, Head and Professor, Department of International Studies, Graduate School of Frontier Sciences, University of Tokyo
  • Michael Ross, Professor, Department of Political Science, University of California Los Angeles
  • Jon Unruh, Associate Professor, Department of Geography, McGill University
  • Todd Walters, Executive Director, International Peace Park Exhibitions
  • Christian WebersikAssociate Professor, Department for Global Development and Planning, University of Agder
  • Erika Weinthal, Professor of Environmental Policy, Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University
  • Aaron Wolf, Professor of Geography, College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State University
  • Helen Young, Research Director, Feinstein International Center, Tufts University


If you would be interested in participating in the Environmental Peacebuilding Academy, please contact us at